Special Report

Modi and Mamta's credentials at stake in West Bengal: Elections 2019

Modi and Mamta's credentials at stake in West Bengal: Elections 2019

In the fifth round of West Bengal, the seven seats that are being held on Monday, all the seats last time Trinamool Congress won.

These include two seats in Howrah district, three from Hooghly district and two seats in North 24-Parganas district adjacent to Bangladesh.

The BJP expects that especially in areas adjacent to Bangladesh, citizenship (Amendment) Bill and National Register of Sentences (NRC) will issue issues like victory over its head.

From Prime Minister Narendra Modi to BJP President Amit Shah, he has been emphasizing these two issues in his rallies. On the other hand, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has also given her full strength to these seats.

In this round, in the North 24-Parganas district, the bengaon seat is the most important seat from the Bangladesh border.

The votes of Matua community on this seat are crucial. Last time, his candidate Kapil Krishna Thakur had won.

Earlier this year, in 2009, the seat was taken by Trinamool. But during the last five years, the BJP has tried to break the vote bank of this constituency.

Under this, Prime Minister Narendra Modi also met Veena Pani Devi, who was called the mother of the Matua community in February last year and took blessings from him. But after the death of Veena Pani Devi in ​​recent times, differences in the community are being seen.

The results of this seat will show how successful the BJP got in making the entry into the Matua community.

Trinamool Congress has fielded Mamta Thakur as its candidate this time and BJP has fielded Shantanu Thakur in the field. In the relationship, they are both aunts and nephews.

Barrackpore seat

Barakpur seat of this district is also important. Trinamool Congress's Dinesh Trivedi is in the fray for winning the hat-trick of victory.

BJP has fielded former Trinamool Congress MLA Arjun Singh against him here.

This Hindi-speaking region has been famous for jute mills in any given period. In the locality of Hooghly, the condition of Hindi-speaking people is also bad as jute mills are now.

In 2009, BJP got only 3.56 per cent votes, which increased to 21.92 per cent in 2014. This figure is the BJP's lead stinging.

Howrah is also important


BJP is also dreaming of winning on Kolkata Howrah parliamentary seat.

Footballer Prasoon Chatterjee won the first by-election here and then in the 2014 elections. Prasun is in the fray for the third time.

BJP has appointed senior journalist Ratindeve Sengupta as its candidate while Sumitra Officer and Shubra Ghosh are from the Congress and CPM side respectively.

While Prasun is making claims of victory of hat-trick, Ratindeva claims that people have made a mood for change.

Uluberia, the second seat in Howrah district, is the CPI (M) stronghold. But since the year 2009, the Trinamul Congress has been occupying it.

In 2009 and 2014, Sultan Ahmed of Trinamul Congress won this seat. But in the bypoll due to his demise last year, the party had given ticket to Sultan's wife Sajeda Ahmed and they won with a margin of 4.74 lakh votes depending on sympathy wave.

Last time, BJP candidate Anupam Mallik was second with 23.29 per cent votes.

This time the party has brought actor Jai Banerjee to the ground. Sajeda Ahmed is trying to kill Kismet by Trinamool Congress

The CPM has given ticket to Abki Maqsood.

Shrirampur seat

In Shrirampur seat of Hooghly district, BJP had introduced the famous singer Bappi Lahiri in the year 2014.

He had lost the election but with 22.29 per cent or 2.87 lakh votes, surely the ray of hope for the future in the BJP was born.

The party has brought the Devyat government to the ground. Kalyan Chatterjee, who won this seat twice from Trinamool, is in the same ground. He defeated CPM's Tirthankar Rai by a margin of 1.52 lakh votes in 2014.

Congress's Debabrata Biswas and CPM candidate Tirthankar Rai are busy making chances for the match.

Hughli seat

In the Hooghly parliamentary constituency, BJP has fielded former Actress Locket Chatterjee. Ratna De Nag from Trinamool, who won here two consecutive times, is also in the fray this time too.

CPM has made Pradip Saha and Congress its candidate for Prabhul Chandra Saha.

Senior BJP leader Chandan Mitra contested this election in the year 2014 from BJP. But they were at number three

Locket Chatterjee has worked hard to stop Ratna's hat-trick this time.

Arambagh Seat
Hugali district's Arambagh parliamentary seat has the highest winning margin.

Apart from this, the ruling party's candidate in the state has always been winning. By the year 2009, CPM was winning here. After that, the Trinamool Congress candidate won the 2014 election here.

This time Trinamool's Apupapa Poddar is once again in the fray in this seat. BJP has given ticket to Tapan Roy here.

Keeping in view the violence in the third and fourth round, security arrangements have been strengthened for this period.

The Election Commission has deployed central forces at every polling station this time. In total, about five and a half hundred companies have been deployed for the central forces.


Mobile No
Your Comment *